Posted Tuesday November 6, 2018


PI Announces New fellowships aim to support early-career researchers

Fellowships named in honour of Stephen Hawking, Jocelyn Bell Burnell, and other physics pioneers will support the path-breaking research of new Perimeter postdoctoral researchers.

Perimeter Institute has announced seven new postdoctoral fellowships, named after exceptional researchers whose work epitomizes the promise and potential of early-career scientists.

Perimeter Director Neil Turok announced the fellowships before an October public lecture by astrophysicist Jocelyn Bell Burnell, with Nobel Prize winner Donna Strickland in the audience.

Both women, he said, were shining examples of the brilliance and potential of young scientists.

“Both Jocelyn and Donna made breakthrough discoveries as graduate students,” he said. “Jocelyn discovered neutron stars, which are now providing us with a giant natural physics lab in the sky. Donna developed chirped pulse amplification, a revolutionary method of compressing laser light with wide application from physics to medicine to industry.”

It is such youthful energy and adventurous spirit that the seven new fellowships aim to support and inspire. Three of the fellowships had already been awarded to the inaugural recipients, and applications remain open for the other positions.

The fellowships are:

• The Francis Kofi Allotey Fellowship, named for a Ghanaian mathematical physicist who made pioneering contributions to soft X-ray nuclear spectroscopy. Fellowship awarded to Estelle Maeva Inack.

• The Jocelyn Bell Burnell Fellowship, named for the Northern Irish astronomer who discovered pulsars, won the 2018 Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, and is a passionate advocate for minorities in science.

• The Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat Fellowship, named for a French mathematical physicist best known for her applications of analysis to partial differential equations and differential geometry.

• The Stephen W. Hawking Fellowship, named for the famous English cosmologist whose pioneering work on gravity shaped modern cosmology.

• The P. James E. Peebles Fellowship, named for a Canadian-American cosmologist whose contributions to science include the formation of light elements and the cosmic microwave background radiation. Fellowship awarded to Mathew Madhavacheril.

• The Chien-Shiung Wu Fellowship, named for the Chinese-American nuclear physicist whose work laid the foundation for the modern theory of the weak interaction and the Standard Model of particle physics.

• The Yakov B. Zel’dovich Fellowship, named for a Belarusian physicist who made prolific contributions to cosmology, astrophysics, physical chemistry, and hydrodynamical and electromagnetic phenomena. Fellowship awarded to Zhen Pan.

 is distributed twice weekly; Tuesday and Thursday

Not a Subscriber? Receive more articles on business issues
Sent directly to your email in-box.

contact us

Publisher is Exchange Business Communication Inc.
No part of this article may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher.
Email Publisher

ISSN 0824-45
Copyright, 2018

Share Your Story: pressrelease @
Expand Your Reach:
advertise @
Publisher: Exchange Business Communication Inc., PO Box 248, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Email Editor

Content published on this site represents the opinion of the individual, organization and/or source provider. is a online daily journal of Exchange Business Communication Inc. (1997) Publishers of Exchange Magazine est. 1983. Privacy Policy. Copyright of Exchange produced editorial is the copyright of Exchange Business Communications Inc. 2018. Submitted editorials, comments and releases are copyright of respective source(s).