Posted Tuesday June 23, 2020

Recovery Task Force

Region launches Post COVID-19 Economic Recovery Committee

The COVID-19 Economic Recovery Committee, comprised of Regional Councillors representing cities and townships within the Region, held their first meeting last week.

The committee’s focus is to support our community in its recovery by reviewing stimulus activities such as: tax policy; reducing red tape; development charges; capital spending and stimulus activities in general.

“It’s vital that our Region move into the next phase of pandemic control and economic recovery,” said Councillor Sean Strickland, elected Chair of the COVID-19 Economic Recovery Committee. “We want to help our community bounce back as quickly and safely as possible.”

This committee’s term will last approximately six months and within that time will be required to update Council on its activities, review its mandate, adopt any recommendations or extend further activity. All recommendations will have to be approved by Regional Council.

Councillors appointed to the Post COVID-19 Economic Recovery Committee are:

· Karl Kiefer, Cambridge

· Michael Harris, Kitchener

· Geoff Lorentz, Kitchener,

· Sean Strickland, Waterloo

· Sue Foxton, Townships

· Helen Jowett, Chair of the Economic Development Committee

· Karen Redman, Regional Chair

 is distributed twice weekly; Tuesday and Thursday

Not a Subscriber? Receive more articles on business issues
Sent directly to your email in-box.

contact us

Publisher is Exchange Business Communication Inc.
Email Publisher

ISSN 0824-45
Copyright, 2020

Share Your Story: pressrelease @
Expand Your Reach:
advertise @
Publisher: Exchange Business Communication Inc., PO Box 248, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Email Editor

Content published on this site represents the opinion of the individual, organization and/or source provider. is a online daily journal of Exchange Business Communication Inc. (1997) Publishers of Exchange Magazine est. 1983. Privacy Policy. Copyright of Exchange produced editorial is the copyright of Exchange Business Communications Inc. 2020. Submitted editorials, comments and releases are copyright of respective source(s).