Previous WeekMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridayNext Week

../Morning Post
Posted December 12 2011


Carleton Celebrates First Semester of Unique Political Management Program

OTTAWA – Carleton University’s unique graduate program to train the political leaders of tomorrow celebrated a successful first term Thursday at a reception hosted by Assistant Deputy Speaker Barry Devolin on Parliament Hill as new Fellows of the program were announced.

Students of the Clayton H. Riddell Master of Political Management at Carleton, along with their professors, politicians and the Speaker of the House of Commons, Andrew Sheer, gathered to toast Canada’s first graduate program of its kind. Also attending was Preston Manning, president and CEO of the Manning Centre for Building Democracy. The program was originally proposed to Carleton by the Manning Centre.

“The success of government requires strong players at all levels,” said Devolin. “This innovative program gives people a professional foundation in the skills required for constructive politics and effective policy.”

The master’s program admits 25 students a year. Ex plicitly designed to inform and bolster electoral politics and parliamentary democracy in Canada and beyond, Riddell students will be equipped to occupy positions of responsibility and leadership.

“Carleton University is proud to assist in improving governance and the practice of politics across the nation,” said Carleton President Roseann O’Reilly Runte. “Our location in the nation's capital, the generous support of Mr. Riddell and our talented faculty combine to make this program highly successful.”

“The impetus of this program came from a need to address a democratic deficit,” said Andr é Plourde, dean of the Faculty of Public Affairs. “We are proud to be playing this role and acting as a training ground for the future leaders of Canada.”

Former parliamentarians and experts who have agreed to speak in various classes throughout the year have been designated as Fellows of the program.

“The fellowships are a way to recognize the important contributions these people have made,” said André Turcotte, chair of the program. “We want to establish close and long-term associations with them.’’

The 2011-2012 Fellows include Guy Giorno, former chief of staff in the Prime Minister’s Office; Barry McLoughlin and Laura Peck, founders of McLoughlin Media; political strategist Richard Anderson; lobbyist and strategist Michael Robinson; Robin Sears, veteran communications, marketing and public affairs adviser; Chris Froggatt, public affairs and communications professional; Liz Mulholland, independent public policy consultant; Scott Reid, former PMO director of communications; political columnist Paul Wells; and former speaker Peter Milliken.

The pioneering program is made possible through the generous financial support of Calgary businessman Clayton H. Riddell and the Riddell Family Charitable Foundation.

Submit press release to - Editor Jon Rohr - Content published on this site represents the opinion of the individual/organization and/or source provider of the Content. is non-partisan, online journal. Privacy Policy. Copyright of Exchange produced editorial is the copyright of Exchange Business Communications Inc. 2011/*.*. Additional editorials, comments and releases are copyright of respective source(s) and/or institutions or organizations.


Contact an Exchange Representative

Current Issue: November/December 2011
Receive Exchange Online Now

Submit Press Release
Visitor Centre
Advertising Inquires
Tel: 519.886.0298

Subscribe to Exchange Magazine Print Edition

Contact Information:

Exchange Business Communication Inc.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Tel: 519.886.0298

Jon Rohr

Account Manager

John Hobin