Previous MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridayNext

____________________ Monday October 27, 2014 ___________________



The National Trust Announces New Chair and Governors

Ottawa - The National Trust for Canada announced its new Chair, Tom Urbaniak of Nova Scotia, and four new members joining its Board of Governors: Myriam St-Denis of Quebec, Michael Murphy of Prince Edward Island and James Ingold and Dr. Glenn Sutter, both of Saskatchewan.

Tom Urbaniak, PhD, is Chair of the Political Science Department at Cape Breton University, Nova Scotia, where he also teaches in the MBA program in community economic development. Tom works at the intersection of heritage conservation, social policy and non-profit sector governance. As Chair, Tom brings to the National Trust his expertise in board governance, experience working with cultural communities, as well as a deep knowledge of heritage as a building block for community sustainability and social equity.

Myriam St-Denis holds a Master’s degree in Urban Planning from the Université de Montréal, specializing in built heritage and international cooperation. She brings an international perspective on community development and heritage conservation, grounded in studies in the conservation of historic buildings at the Escola Tècnica Superior d’Arquitecturea de Barcelona in Spain, research on UNESCO’s World Heritage in Nicaragua, and an internship with the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs in Guyana, where she worked on good governance and the protection of the rights of the Indigenous peoples of the Americas.

Michael Murphy is a chartered accountant with experience in international finance, a business operator, and an award-winning historic property developer in Prince Edward Island. Michael brings his extensive knowledge and experience of heritage building rehabilitation, both residential and commercial, and its potential impact on area rejuvenation.

James Ingold works in marketing, business development and design at the Regina offices of IQmetrix, a software development company with a strong community focus. James’ interest in local culture and heritage led to his involvement with SaskCulture, first as a board member and later as its president. James brings extensive experience in governance and policy development, as well as an appreciation for the interconnections between governments, funders, organizations and cultural workers.

Dr. Glenn Sutter is Curator of Human Ecology at the Royal Saskatchewan Museum, where he is responsible for major exhibits about sustainability and a provincial research and community engagement project on ecomuseums. Building on his experience and advanced degrees in conservation and environmental biology, for almost 20 years Glenn has been exploring and writing about the role that museums can play in sustainability education.

In addition, continuing governors Henry Maisonneuve of Alberta and Richard Moorhouse of Ontario were elected Vice Chairs of the Board.

Content published on this site represents the opinion of the individual/organization and/or source provider of the Content. is non-partisan, online journal. Privacy Policy. Copyright of Exchange produced editorial is the copyright of Exchange Business Communications Inc. 2014. Additional editorials, comments and releases are copyright of respective source(s) and/or institutions or organizations.

Current Issue: Exchange Magazine
September/October 2014
Subscribe to Exchange Magazine

Features Online (NEW)
Velocity: Gaining Velocity
Capacity Canada

Corporate Profile (NEW)
WalterFedy: Growing Outside The Box


Subscription Options