Previous MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridayNext

____ Monday October 26 , 2015 ____



UW 111th Convocation Concludes

Waterloo - More than 2,300 students received degrees as part of the University of Waterloo's 111th convocation, which took place this week. The University conferred 1,317 undergraduate degrees and 1,017 graduate degrees.

"Waterloo's tradition of experiential learning, and our students' entrepreneurial mindset, their drive to succeed and years of hard work equip them as alumni to meet the needs of a changing world," said Feridun Hamdullahpur, president and vice-chancellor of Waterloo. "The entire campus community congratulates them on their remarkable achievement as they emerge as the leaders of tomorrow."

Among the highlights of Waterloo's fall convocation:

The Honourable Roy J. Romanow, former premier of Saskatchewan, received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree. Robert Tarjan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University and a winner of the A.M. Turing Award, received an honorary Doctor of Mathematics. Both addressed convocation, as did James Walker, a Waterloo professor, and Lionel Ohayon, Waterloo alumnus and founder and CEO of ICRAVE Design.

Tanya Renee Jonker received the University of Waterloo Alumni Gold Medal, for outstanding academic performance in a doctoral program.

Han Zhao received the University of Waterloo Alumni Gold Medal, for outstanding academic performance in a master's program.

Josephine Tay is the recipient of the K.D. Fyer Gold Medal, for high academic standing in mathematics together with good student citizenship.

Robert MacIsaac received the Arts Alumni Achievement Award.

Benjamin James Ahier received the Accounting Alumni Award, for outstanding academic performance in the master of accounting program.

Shuntaro Yamagishi is the recipient of the Amitand Meena Chakma Award for exceptional teaching by a student.

Omid Ardakanian, Jessica Ashbourne, Marie Claire Brisbois, Alanna McEneny, Andrew John Achkar, Jennier Elizabeth McWhirter and Melissa Meade received awards for outstanding achievement in graduate studies.

Charlotte Whalen won the James D. Leslie Prize, for outstanding performance in studies by distance education.

The Exchange Morning Post is a free business news service. Consider making a voluntary payment, to help us make this business and market news service better. Thanks in advance, your contribution is appreciated.
Content published on this site represents the opinion of the individual/organization and/or source provider of the Content. is non-partisan, online journal. Privacy Policy. Copyright of Exchange produced editorial is the copyright of Exchange Business Communications Inc. 2015. Additional editorials, comments and releases are copyright of respective source(s) and/or institutions or organizations.

Exchange Magazine for Business
Subscription options:

Exchange Magazine Paper Version
Exchange Magazine - Digital version





Subscription Options